It’s 3am and I am wide awake. Why, you ask. Well, it’s because I totally had a mess up moment. I have been doing Balanced Bites 21 Day Sugar Detox for the last week to
get back on track” and balance my mood a bit. I find that when I eat a lot of sugar (in the form of fruit), I tend to get moody. Up until tonight, I was doing great!

Today we interviewed our first potential roommate. She is great, but I am not super stoked on having roommates while my hubby looks for a job. Just being honest. Anywho, I also had a meeting with one of my favorite clients (ok, all of them are my faves!!) who is struggling with letting go of “mess up moments”. You know, the moments where you ate too much, ate the wrong thing, had a binge, broke a fast….we have all been there.

Well, tonight was my night. After having some wine (first mistake), I decided it would be a good idea to consume multigrain chips, popcorn and graham crackers. Holy gluten explosion!!! After sleeping for a couple of hours, I woke up with a racing pulse, crazy thirst and a painful tummy ache. As I sit here reflecting on my poor choices I was tempted to do the following:

1) Beat myself up for drinking wine and ruining my sugar detox.

2) Blame my binge on all the crazy changes happening right now.

3) Feel guilty for over indulging.

4) Feel like a failure and bad role model.

But, I am not going to do any of those things. Instead, I am going to drink more water and move forward. So I made a bad choice. This does not define me and does not have power over me. I can choose to make better choices in the morning. I can learn from this experience (and the week it will take to recover physically) and try my best not to repeat it.

I share this with you because a lot of my clients and friends struggle with this same battle. I hope that you can give yourself grace and move forward knowing that your struggles do not define you and that you are not powerless in the face of bad choices.

Do you struggle with this issue at all? How do you recover from a binge??